A Renaissance Woman: Naki Akrobettoe

Our undying Love for poetry is what brought Naki Akrobettoe and I together. After we shared ourselves with the mic, we professed our admiration for each other with warm embraces and well wishes. I knew last October wasn’t the last time I’d see Naki. Speaking with her in different spaces, from community study groups to dinner with friends, compelled me to get to know her better. We’re still learning about ourselves and one another as we are mysterious and versatile; both of which pour into her work. Naki’s soft, but strong voice, complex poetry style(s), passion for education and nurturing spirit all guide her in her journey of being a renaissance woman.

QJ: What’s your favorite poetry style?

NA: Hmmm such a good question. I have noticed that I am a stickler with what I was first introduced with which is: Lyric poetry for sure. The narrative and musicality has really been something I have fallen in love with.
QJ: How did you start working with children? Do you incorporate poetry into your school lessons?

NA: I started working with children after my first year of college, I returned to Columbus and my summer job was at the daycare I had attended when I was a child. Millbrook School and Nursery. It was there that I really began using poetry as a tool to help introduce the power of writing to kids. I remember having a small argument with one of the schools gets about Tupac having a poetry book and he refused to call his favorite rapper a poet! I was so offended but it was in that conversation I realized how very little people understand about the art form and craft of poetry. So my passion to teach started from there. Where I work now as a Student Support Advocate and all the jobs and projects I have worked on before all involve me teaching poetry and using creative writing to process our self expression.

QJ: I can only imagine how grueling it can be to work with children who are not your own and raise your babies. How do you take care of yourself? Does writing help?

NA: I appreciate this question so much and it is a hard one to answer because I honestly don’t do “self-care” very well. I think like most people it is a lesson within life that I am always seeking to find balance in. I think most importantly it’s about carving out the time for myself. I like massages, going on walks by water, traveling and writing does help. I am just not as disciplined about my writing as I know I should be. I definitely find support in other blogs and articles and books about mothering and writing and how others have found resolve with the challenges they too have faced.
QJ: When you were little how did you imagine your life to be? Did it go as planned?

N: Nope! I never imagined having children let alone 3 and all within my 20’s. However there are some things that have gone like I wanted. I try not to hold onto things like that but my focus is living a life of no regret. I am where I am because of choices and decisions I made whether good or bad. Perspective is key. Where I am in life now, I understand the power of vision and reflecting of where I see myself not just in the moment but years from now. How do I plan, prepare and position myself for the future I want to have is where my focus is right now!

pic.jpg
QJ: What is your opinion on the Columbus creative scene? What are the positives and negatives

N: Columbus’ creative scene is going through a resurgence. It is always a bit umm comfortable for me to speak on this because I feel like my current recollection of the art scene is so limited due to my move back to the city in 2011. I can say that I have experienced pockets of cliques and there is still some segregated art scenes but for the most part there is a lot of traction to change that. Artist tend to frequent spaces that help with their creative process, so it’s a plus that I know I have a good amount of places that provide that! No matter what I am grateful for the arts community here in Columbus.

Leave a comment